Resistance is Futile!

When you gotta knit, you gotta knit. Period.

Hard core crocheters might take umbrage. So I might as well apologize for my folly.  I use one common verb ‘knit’ for both crafts, knitting and crochet. Why? you might ask. This I might explain in some other post. But right now I was saying…….

When you gotta knit, you gotta knit. Period.

This morning, there are, literally, innumerable things that I need to do, fewt hings that I should be doing and even a couple of things that I just have to get done today so as to avert trouble later. But no amount of rationale is able to divert me from crocheting this scarf today 🙂

luna-lovegood-and-cho-chang-galleryOn my daughter’s request, I am trying to crochet a scarf similar to the worn by Luna Lovegood in the Harry Potter movie, Prisoner of Azkaban.

I found the pattern by Jen Valure to be the closest thing to the real and happily started off , confident that this is, at best, a weekend project. In fact, I just might even get it done in a single day, if I am not distracted.DSC08140

But things did not go as planned and after a couple of rows later, I had to rip it all up, as it turned out to be waaaaay too long for my daughter. 😦 😦 😦

So to scale it down, I  worked out the pattern repeat and did a rough chart as I am more a more confident crocheter  when I can ‘see’ what I am supposed to create rather than ‘read’. So I charted and then did a pattern swatch yesterday.

Now, I am good to go, I thought, and once again started off quite enthusiastically 🙂

1439889319736-1132982042_medium2

But try as I might, I cannot desist from referring to  the actual scarf repeatedly as I am increasingly getting obsessed with the idea of crocheting a scarf as close to the real thing as possible. This is now compelling me to rip it all up and start afresh with the ideas in my mind 😦 I am unable to function logically until I do this.

So, I might as well put everything else, however urgent it might be, on the back burner today and concentrate on this pattern. Because as asserted by wise Borg in Star Trek and The mighty Vogon in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy-

Resistance is futile 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resistance is Futile!

  1. Pingback: Full Circle: Endings and New Beginnings | Crafting Delight

Leave a Reply

